Advisory Council

VA Civics is guided in its programming and substance by a team of content experts and practitioners who generously give their time and advice.

Sean Arthurs
Arthurs & Associates

Christonya Brown
Virginia Department of Education

Henry L. Chambers, Jr.
University of Richmond School of Law

Maria Garnett
Virginia Department of Criminal Justice Services

Lelia Grinnan
Virginia Association of Independent Schools

Meg Heubeck
Youth Leadership Initiative at the University of Virginia

Tylik McMillan
National Action Network

Erin Merrill
Pennington Traditional School

Schuyler VanValkenburg
Delegate, Virginia General Assembly

Allison Wickens
George Washington’s Mount Vernon

Samuel Ulmschneider
Maggie L. Walker Governor’s School